Watershed Management Authority

The Upper Wapsipinicon River Watershed Management Authority was created in 2015 as a partnership of 30 cities, counties, and soil and water conservation districts who signed a 28E agreement to work together in their shared watershed to reduce flooding along the Wapsipinicon River and improve water quality.


Next Meeting

Tuesday, January 29th, 2019 at 1:30 pm

Buchanan County Courthouse Assembly Room

210 5th Ave. NE in Independence, Iowa

Meeting Minutes

Membership & Representatives

  • City of Aurora
  • City of Central City
  • City of Dunkerton: Sheila Steffen
  • City of Elma: Shannon Gebel
  • City of Fredericksburg
  • City of Frederika: Kip Ladage
  • City of Hazleton
  • City of Independence: Al Roder, Mike Lenius
  • City of New Hampton
  • City of Quasqueton: Elaine Hughes
  • City of Readlyn: Kip Ladage
  • City of Riceville
  • City of Sumner
  • City of Tripoli: Greg Eschweiler
  • City of Winthrop: Shawn Curtis, Mary Ryan
  • Black Hawk County: Frank Magsaman
  • Bremer County: Kip Ladage
  • Buchanan County: Don Shonka (Chair), Gary Gissel
  • Chickasaw County: Steve Geerts, Rick Holthaus, John Andersen
  • Fayette County: Jeanine Tellin
  • Howard County: Jan McGovern
  • Linn County: Chuck Ungs, Dennis Goemaat
  • Mitchell County: Shannon Paulus
  • Black Hawk Soil & Water Conservation District: Jennifer Trent
  • Bremer Soil & Water Conservation District: Ron Lenth
  • Buchanan Soil & Water Conservation District: Julie Althaus
  • Chickasaw Soil & Water Conservation District: Kim Leichtman
  • Delaware Soil & Water Conservation District: Chris Eiby
  • Fayette Soil & Water Conservation District
  • Howard Soil & Water Conservation District
  • Linn Soil & Water Conservation District: Tom Mullen, Jeremy Barnes
  • Mitchell Soil & Water Conservation District


Public Relations/Communications Committee (includes education) – 2017

Gary Gissel, John Kurtz, Don Shonka, Ashley Sherrets, Chuck Ungs and Greg Eschweiler

Technical Committee – 2017

Brian Keierleber, Ron Lenth, Dan Cohen, Mary Beth Stevenson and Don Shonka, Abby Beltz, Brian Moore, Dennis Goemaat, and a University of Iowa contact (Ashley Kittle)

Project Coordinator Committee – 2017

Mike Lenius, Frank Magnesman, Mary Beth Stevenson, Felicia Campbell, Bob Muchmore, Abby Beltz and Don Shonka

28E Agreement

Upper Wapsipinicon River Watershed Management Authority 28E Agreement 2-17-2015 (PDF)

Preliminary Goals (Set 2015)

http://upperwapsi.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/Upper-Wapsi-WMA-Goals-2015.pdf (PDF)